Who am I kidding?

Being pregnant has taught me a few things… namely recognizing my limitations. I’ve learned to schedule naps into my day and not to judge the mirror to harshly. Today is my day off and I’ve decided that I need to take a long pampering bath and put energy into feeling healthy and pretty-not scrubbing the bathrooms. šŸ™‚

Some of you have been wondering where I’ve been lately… I guess I’ll have to share my big secret: I love friends, but social media isn’t exactly my strength. My life is wonderful and full. I’ve been working a lot, sleeping a lot, and I’ve taken on more students to tutor in the art of creative writing. I’m still slogging away on a manuscript that’s been ‘almost done’ for several months.

I’d like to do more… but I need to eat a big BBQ chicken egg sandwich in about 10 minutes from now.

I don’t know where the balance is. I think I may just be a writer who switches on to social media some time before and after a book release. In the middle, I plan to fill my head with adventure and not sweat the number of tweets I may not have put out. Perhaps things will change. Maybe they won’t, but all I know is that the best thing I can do for my child, is to love me.

And make a sandwich to die for.

Thanks for asking Rusty. šŸ™‚

 

About cjgosling

I paint, I sing, I walk in the rain. I'm clumsy and I love the smell of campfire. My head is full of imaginary things and the only thing I ever really want to do in life is write. My first book "Shadowlands: The Guardian" was released in Feb. 2011. The sequel is coming in 2012! View all posts by cjgosling

4 responses to “Who am I kidding?

  • Rusty Biesele

    Pregnant is beautiful, don’t sweat the figure. In fact, don’t stress at all. You can get premature babies that way. The first two years after the baby is born will seem like 4 or 5, after that it goes by too quickly. What you write while your pregnant will be different. It will be interesting when you look back on it and read your writing from that time. Raising children is a study in character flaws, so it is great for writing.

  • Cheryl Schenk

    Aww! Congratulations, CJ. Relax and enjoy this time, it’s amazing. We’ll all still be out here when you feel the need.

  • Steven Whibley

    I think balance is something all writers have trouble with. For one thing, we have a profession that requires your work to be brought home with you. We’re thinking about our stories all the time. I’ve decided, after some struggle, that social media is going to be something I schedule. It will be on this day, at this time, otherwise I work on writing and life.

    Good luck striking that balance. I read your book, btw, I really enjoyed it! Well done.

  • Anonymous

    hey! Rachel Bylenga here-!! so i know that when i’ve been down on my own looks, getting someone good at taking pictures actually made me feel much better. they took ones where I looked good to even me. no, i wasn’t pregnant at the time, but maybe its the same. I would love to see you while your pregnant too because I know it would just make me so happy to see my Charity pregnant. yes, your still mine;) hehe I miss you!

Leave a Reply

