A month in a nutshell…

I know, I know. It’s been awhile. I’ve kind of dropped off the grid for a bit. In my defence, life has been full of wonderful changes and it’s been a race to keep up. Let me fill you in. 🙂

Moving! My husband J and I bought our first house and moved in! After living in a small apartment, having our own place feels like a castle. There is even a spare room where I now have my office. Not only am I busy almost finishing off the manuscript for my next book, I do social media for an outdoor sporting goods store. To my chagrin, I seem to do a much better job doing social media for someone else. 😛

Babies! I recently flew out to Denver, CO to spend some time with a close friend. She just gave birth to her second and it was fun to be able to fly out and give her a hand. My sister-in-law also had gave birth… last night. I was able to be there to see her deliver a beautiful baby girl (after 22 hrs.).

And guess what? I found out a few weeks ago I’m pregnant as well. The timing is incredible, it feels like J and I have done 10 years of growing up in 2 months. The good news? So far my pregnancy seems relatively easy. I only get really nauseous if I stay up too late… like last night for instance. Not that I’m going through anything like what my sister-in-law is experiencing, but walking around the hospital at 3am makes me feel like I ate gym socks for breakfast. Right now I’m curled up in bed with the laptop trying to decide if a hot shower will help.

Finally, despite appearances, I have remained mostly plugged into the local writing community. The best part of my week is when I work with young Josh teaching him how to write his first bestselling book. I think he’s in his early teens. We have quite a bit of fun together.

Similar opportunities for working with kids have been opening up left and right. There’s really only so much our school system can teach about creative writing and parents that have gifted kids seem really excited that I love teaching kids how to write stories as much as I love writing itself. I will be speaking at a writing group for kids this week and a grade 4 teacher has asked me to come and talk to her class. I’m super stoked!

So that catches you up! Time for a shower… and pineapple. I suddenly need to go eat a lot of pineapple.

About cjgosling

I paint, I sing, I walk in the rain. I'm clumsy and I love the smell of campfire. My head is full of imaginary things and the only thing I ever really want to do in life is write. My first book "Shadowlands: The Guardian" was released in Feb. 2011. The sequel is coming in 2012! View all posts by cjgosling

6 responses to “A month in a nutshell…

  • Maplemusketeer

    Wow and wow and hooray and wow and hooray! 😀 and *hugs* 😀

  • Rusty Biesele

    Congrats on being PG. After the kid is born, it definitely changes your perspective. Good for you mentoring that kid. Gifted kids often end up in a very bad way without a mentor or a school system with a gifted program. I read many tales of misery. It’s good you are helping one so that they will be able to write a tale of success.

  • Arianne

    Congratulations on the baby! Its a wonderful and exciting time and, despite what people often say, pregnancy is the most amazing experience- your body creating an entirely new one with nothing but the basic ingredients you put in day by day (pineapple evidently) : ). Enjoy the journey and ignore the horror stories everyone suddenly feels the need to share with you.
    And how about a look at that gorgeous belly when it starts to show…eventually….
    I recently passed The Guardian on to my son’s Grade 4 teacher to read after I devoured it in a few days myself. Can’t wait to see what happens… X

    • cjgosling

      Thank you so much! I do feel very beautiful. And tell me what your son’s teacher thinks!

      • Arianne

        I will! He was so excited when I told him you were passionate about teaching kids about writing. How would you feel about doing a talk for their class? We could record it via skype or do it online? What do you think? I realise you are really busy with writing and promoting so there is no pressure at all, and no rush either (our school year ends in November). I just thought I’d ask because you just never know….X

Leave a Reply

