My book is published! What now?

Last week was huge. At finally long last my book is officially released to the world and free to fly. Some of you might have discovered a few sad kinks in the system… But I know my publisher is working extra hard to get everything straightened out.

so what’s next?

Honestly, I’m a bit worn out from the marketing side of things. I’ve been sadly lax in telling you all just how amazing my book launch went… Mostly because I needed a bit of a break. BUT the wonderful news is that I know the new direction I’m going in: I want to teach kids to write.

The absolutely best part of my week happened when I got to sit down with a kid named Josh (I think he’s 11) and his father. Josh has been writing stories since the tender age of four. He plays amazing pretend games and he’s got all these ideas swirling about inside of his head… He just doesn’t know what to do with them. His father looked a bit desperate when he asked if I could help. πŸ™‚ I CAN’T WAIT to help Josh write a book!

We talked about organizing his ideas into separate folders his computer and giving each of those folders the title of a book. Once we grouped the ideas properly I asked him which book he’d like to write. Once he picked a book to work on I gave him homework. I told him to write a page on the characters in his book, a page on the setting, and a page loosely outlining the plot. I also told him not to be afraid to write out the scenes from his book that are playing out inside his head…

Okay. I know that sounds like a lot for a kid, but Josh is on fire. He’s so excited to write, our meeting could have gone on for hours. Fortunately I remembered I had a hungry husband at home to feed.

Josh has really inspired me to run with an idea I had about talking in high schools about creative writing and story building. Book signings are great and all… But kids. Kids are awesome!

On a happy side note, Josh represents my fastest growing “fan base”… Kids between 9 and 12 are the ones who are really loving my book. I was a little surprised at this but I can’t tell you how great it is. I’ve been told that these are the kids who generally don’t read so I’ve got something good going. The knowledge that preteens are the ones reading my stuff has also begun to shape the way I write my next book…

But more on that later. πŸ™‚

About cjgosling

I paint, I sing, I walk in the rain. I'm clumsy and I love the smell of campfire. My head is full of imaginary things and the only thing I ever really want to do in life is write. My first book "Shadowlands: The Guardian" was released in Feb. 2011. The sequel is coming in 2012! View all posts by cjgosling

2 responses to “My book is published! What now?

  • Jordan

    >Hooray!!! πŸ˜€ That's so awesome and exciting and super! :DMy brother has done some art teaching/speaking to students and really enjoyed doing it πŸ™‚ I think you'd be great at that sort of venue CJ :)Huzzah!

  • Rusty B.

    >Get ready for a rocket ride, that kid is more than likely gifted. Do not be afraid to push him slightly. It is a use or lose it time in his development. The more he is challenged, the better he will like it. If you can keep that kid challenged, you are in for a very rewarding experience. Ask him how he feels about school.Be sure he is not bored there. If there is one thing I learned painfully, it's that middle school English is really important for writing. Be sure his writing enhances his English class experience, not substitutes for it. If his English class is boring, his dad may need to have a talk with the teacher about accelerating him.

Leave a Reply

