Why I Love YA

It’s been a wonderful weekend. I had a chance to snuggle down beside a big wood stove at my father’s place while the rain smashed against the windows and just write.

Loosing myself in the bubble world of teen fiction is always a lot of fun. I love the drama and the passion that bleeds through my characters. Hearts can be broken and knit back together in a day. Teen books are more vibrant to me than adult books, the colours seem more vivid.

I also feel free to move the story along at an incredible pace. The structure is simpler and the action is fast, yet at the same time, I think that youth savour the challenge of new words and complex sentences.

I have this belief that YA is the perfect place to try new ideas. At the same time, my books are all a little tongue in cheek, so I don’t mind playing with clichès.

Don’t mind me, I’m going to dive back into that world right now. It’s hard to stay away!

PS Check out my dad’s place on Hornby! How could you not want to write here?

About cjgosling

I paint, I sing, I walk in the rain. I'm clumsy and I love the smell of campfire. My head is full of imaginary things and the only thing I ever really want to do in life is write. My first book "Shadowlands: The Guardian" was released in Feb. 2011. The sequel is coming in 2012! View all posts by cjgosling

One response to “Why I Love YA

Leave a Reply

