What’s your dream?

We all have dreams, but it seems few of us really grasp them in their entirety. I’ve been wondering why and here are my thoughts on two possible reasons.

The first thing that I think may stand in the way of our dreams are ‘false dreams’. I think we’ve all had them. For instance… I may wish I was a rock star, I may dream about it… but when it comes down to it, I hardly ever practice. Being a rock star for me is a bit of a false dream. It’s a dream I wish was mine but unless I have that burning itch to practice, write and preform, unless I go out of the way to make contacts in the industry, or put my money where my mouth is and produce my own first album… I doubt anything will happen.

A true dream, when you find it, consumes you. Yes, there’s discipline involved but the reward of seeing your dream take form far outweighs the struggle. Despite all hardships a true dream fills your life in a way nothing else will.

The other thing that can stop us from living our true dreams is the concept of ‘normality’. In Canadian culture there’s very few of us who rarely dare to stick out among the rest. Our cars look the same, our houses look the same, we stand and sit at the same time, we talk quietly and we are often very polite and sensitive to what other people are doing, or what others may think of us… a generalization of course, but it seems to me that what I’ve just described is a solid ‘respectable’ Canadian citizen.

That thing inside of you- the thing that screams to get out- it’s weird, risky and scary. There’s no guarantee of success. As a matter of fact, you probably will fail, several times over before anything really takes shape. But I think that if we can overcome our fear and embrace the weirdness (whether it’s running for politics or painting a canvas using your body), we’ll never be able to stop.

The ride is addicting and exhilarating. It’s what we were made for and we all have it. You may not know what your dream is but it’s probably under your nose. Do you watch too many movies? Have you ever thought of becoming a film critic or a director? Do you waste time playing video games? How would you like to build them? If you could plan a perfect day off what would you do? That may give you a clue.

Love the ride, and don’t ever settle. There’s always another level to take your dream- and don’t be afraid if your dreams morphs and change over time. We all want it… but few of us do it… those who do… those who follow the burning in their heart despite any obstacle and sacrifice… they become world shakers.

About cjgosling

I paint, I sing, I walk in the rain. I'm clumsy and I love the smell of campfire. My head is full of imaginary things and the only thing I ever really want to do in life is write. My first book "Shadowlands: The Guardian" was released in Feb. 2011. The sequel is coming in 2012! View all posts by cjgosling

2 responses to “What’s your dream?

Leave a Reply

