Breaking out of the Brain Box

Sometimes people ask me how I avoid writer’s block. My answer is that writer’s block isn’t so much the problem as writer’s burnout. Sometimes I just need to walk away from the computer and do something different for a while: go for a run, play guitar, cook a fancy meal, and ah yes, drink some red wine. I take off my writer’s glasses and look at the world from a different perspective.

These last few weeks I’ve been painting again. (It’s been a while) and I have to say, my painting is making me very happy.

I’m not really a technical painter. I love big brush strokes and bright colours. It’s like dancing. Besides – small details hurt my eyes 🙂

Here’s the result of some happiness and hard work. The fun news is that I’ve found a coffee shop to display it at. If you live in Nanaimo, you can check out my painting at The Buzz coffee shop. If you like it a lot… you can buy it for $1200. 🙂 … and help me buy a plane ticket to India, where I expect to see many bright colours and perhaps some dancing.

On another note: I need a name for this piece like yesterday… and I’m really trying not to call it ‘Aslan’. Your suggestions would be wonderful!

Now I am going to cook some stew… and maybe bake a pie. Mmmm… pie…

About cjgosling

I paint, I sing, I walk in the rain. I'm clumsy and I love the smell of campfire. My head is full of imaginary things and the only thing I ever really want to do in life is write. My first book "Shadowlands: The Guardian" was released in Feb. 2011. The sequel is coming in 2012! View all posts by cjgosling

5 responses to “Breaking out of the Brain Box

Leave a Reply

