Hug an Author Week

It’s a strange, strange world.

There’s been a lot of work to do as my publisher and I push towards the release of my first book. We’ve juggled with spacing and fonts, struggled with cover art, begged for readers and reviews, and spent way too many late nights editing. Trying to get every. Last. Spelling mistake out of that darn manuscript. 🙂

Not that it isn’t fun. It can be. But there’s a problem, and I’m sure many of you wordsmiths out there will agree with me.

Darn it. I just want to write!

How did I get to this place? Somehow I’ve had to sacrifice my true passion (writing a good story) to all the fuss of building and marketing a book. I do this in the hopes that I may – one day – be successful enough to well… hire someone else to fuss so I can just…

write.

Which is where I started.

Hmmm… this leads me to an odd tangent… I look around at the piles of books invading my living room and I realize that all these wonderful authors also had to sacrifice their pure creative writing time to reach me with their stories.

Whew. 

That’s it! I’m proclaiming this “hug an author week”. I’ve just begun the process and I’ve decided: those people are heroes.

So if you know an author, be sure to give them a hug. If there’s no one in easy reach, just hug yourself. You deserve it.

About cjgosling

I paint, I sing, I walk in the rain. I'm clumsy and I love the smell of campfire. My head is full of imaginary things and the only thing I ever really want to do in life is write. My first book "Shadowlands: The Guardian" was released in Feb. 2011. The sequel is coming in 2012! View all posts by cjgosling

2 responses to “Hug an Author Week

  • Rusty B.

    I feel your pain. I think now have an understanding of what I previously said, "You don't own the book, the book owns you." And pretty soon, if you sell a lot of copies, the readers will own you too. Maybe I'll see you along with 4 million other people at the big Barnes and Noble a couple of miles from my house for a signing!Speaking of editing, I guess I'll get back to it. I have to get the first 4 chapters of MS3 read out-loud done before the volunteer editor arrives this weekend. After more than a year of working on this thing, I can only see the errors if I read out-loud. I guess its why non-writers think writers are mumbling crazy people. We're not mumbling, we're just trying to read out-loud to find the mistakes!

  • Cheryl Schenk

    I hear you loud and clear. I see it as a new learning curve. I have much greater respect for authors now than ever, and they were pretty high on the pedestal to begin with. I never believed it was easy, but I never knew how much work is involved. Now to take care of that hug, and I have passed one along to you as well.

Leave a Reply

