Catching Fireflies

And I’m off again.

I work a job that requires me to travel quite a bit this time of year. I have written… very. little. these last few weeks and the need to write makes my arms and hands feel itchy and hot (or maybe that’s sunburn).

The only thing that`s keeping me sane is a little black notebook I carry about with me. As I wait for the ferry to dock, the bus to come, to board the plane, to catch another train… I write little snippets of things that describe what I see about me. I have the idea that someday they`ll make a brilliant line in a book…

here`s what I`ve seen lately:

Old mountains like crumpled tissue paper piled against the sea
Little girls in bright dresses flitting like butterflies across the lawn
A brass chandelier hung from the ceiling like a curled dead spider
Stained glass saints: bold, grand and precariously fragile

little scrawled lines… here there and everywhere across the paper…  they mean everything and nothing at the same time.

How about you? Tell me… What do you see?

About cjgosling

I paint, I sing, I walk in the rain. I'm clumsy and I love the smell of campfire. My head is full of imaginary things and the only thing I ever really want to do in life is write. My first book "Shadowlands: The Guardian" was released in Feb. 2011. The sequel is coming in 2012! View all posts by cjgosling

One response to “Catching Fireflies

  • Cheryl Schenk

    Rain bouncing off the road like popcorn leaping in hot oilRainbows spread across the ceiling, like sprinkles on a cupcakeDishes piled by the sink, fractured by stains of a meal long goneThe fading light of day, soft and welcoming in it's embrace.Well…I tried!

Leave a Reply

