Why We Need Friends

It’s a lonely lonely world out there… or at least it can be if you’re a writer. Our work and nature tends to be reclusive and total isolation is never a good thing. That’s why my beloved writer’s group (Writing In Progress) is changing my life.

WIP is an awesome place to get honest critique in a safe environment. We just had our very first writing retreat together and well… this is what I did for two days…

(They made me pose like this because they say I tap my lips with my fingers whenever the writing’s going good. Apparently I also I rub my chin and frown when I’m struggling. I don’t believe it.

On I side note… I’ve been invited to play poker with several of the members anytime I want)

Annnndddd. Just in case you’re wondering what REALLY goes on at a writing retreat. This is what everybody else did:

So pretty awesome huh? We set goals, wrote, wrote, wrote, wrote. We ate and discussed our progress and then wrote more. In the evenings after dinner we read what we’d worked on aloud and got critique back. And then went hot tubbing.

I can’t remember having so much fun. I can be really shy and I loved hanging out in a group where I had no problem being exactly myself. We often wrote together in the same room and it was really fun to be able to look up from my work and ask “how long is it okay to delay revealing the main conflict in a story if the inciting incident doesn’t happen for 50 pages?”…

They understood. They cared. And they answered back!

About cjgosling

I paint, I sing, I walk in the rain. I'm clumsy and I love the smell of campfire. My head is full of imaginary things and the only thing I ever really want to do in life is write. My first book "Shadowlands: The Guardian" was released in Feb. 2011. The sequel is coming in 2012! View all posts by cjgosling

2 responses to “Why We Need Friends

  • Rusty B.

    I think it would be difficult for me to write with a group of people around me. I would get embarrassed when tears started dripping down onto the manuscript. Or when I cackle out loud at my own joke. Or the random mutterings coming out of my mouth as I get involved in the story so much that I am in it and unaware of my surroundings. Sometimes, I explain to people I know, the difference between them reading and me writing. When they read, the emotion hits them and then they are done. When I write, it may take me a couple of days to get a part of the story out. Sometimes longer. That means whatever happy or brutally sad part they read in a few moments, I spend days experiencing. So I may go around for several days like a dark cloud because I am writing a dark part of the book. Likewise, I could be silly for a few days because the part I am writing is totally silly.So for me, writing tends to be pretty much a solitary endeavor, just so I don't look like a totally nuts person.

  • Dr. Kathie M. Black, PhD

    Thanks for the wonderful 'synopsis' of our first writing retreat! It was a wonderful experience & I'm so glad that it worked out for all of us. Of course, I didn't share the hot tub experience from the inside – only the outside wet deck – along with Shannon running through the meadow… Looking forward to our next one 🙂 K

Leave a Reply

