Weather openings…

The rain fell tirelessly, turning the ground, the houses and even the people into soggy sponges. The air, usually filled with the carefree whine of mosquitoes, hung thick and heavy. The water filled the ditches and washed the mosquitoes clean out of their once tepid pools. Summer died with them.

With calm resignation, I peered between the slats of my venetian blinds and reflected that for the fifteenth straight day in a row- it was a perfect day to stay inside and write.

Ha ha.

I learned something recently- apparently weather openings are so overused they’ve become cleche. Now that I know that, I think back upon much of the work I’ve done and shudder at how much I’ve used this particular trick. My only comfort is just how often I’ve read it in other people’s work as well. What’s up with that?

Note to self- do everything with intention. If I have to open with a weather scene I must do it because I’ve got a specific point to make- not because I’m lazy and I can’t think of a better way to begin. If anything, weather bogs down the pace… drags it through the mud so to say…

Okay- I’m done here. Today my goal is 1500 words…

About cjgosling

I paint, I sing, I walk in the rain. I'm clumsy and I love the smell of campfire. My head is full of imaginary things and the only thing I ever really want to do in life is write. My first book "Shadowlands: The Guardian" was released in Feb. 2011. The sequel is coming in 2012! View all posts by cjgosling

2 responses to “Weather openings…

  • Jordan

    It's interesting because there are many things that can be cliche.. yet certain genres also come with certain expectations and allowances for multiple cliches. I think you smacked the nail on the noggin when you said INTENTION is what matters. Knowing the rules and when to apply them and when to break them, for a reason. Heck.. I've known you to do some enjoyable things with cliches 😀 Thanks for the heads up on weather openings becoming cliche. From now on.. Chapter 1.Sunny. Wind from the west. Barometer falling.

  • CJ Gosling

    Watch for 'I'm surveying the landscape' openings as well… those will getcha.

Leave a Reply

