Advice please!

Hmm…
A big decision seems to be looming on the horizon. I’ve made contact with someone who is starting a publishing company. This isn’t just a whim… this person is a successful small business owner with a very solid business plan involving all aspects of publishing. (She’s not asking for money and I trust her to not rip me off.) From copy-editing to promotion, she has already been building contacts and is almost ready to launch. She’d also invested quite a bit of time and money already… She’s in line to possibly win a government grant and… She’s interested in my manuscript.

So my question. Do I risk publishing with a tiny untested publishing company? Will I burn my book? She knows how to run a business but she’s not an editor.

On the other hand, I’m still a baby writer. It may take me years to gain recognition from a larger publishing house. Maybe this will help build a good portfolio…

So friends, what do you think?

About cjgosling

I paint, I sing, I walk in the rain. I'm clumsy and I love the smell of campfire. My head is full of imaginary things and the only thing I ever really want to do in life is write. My first book "Shadowlands: The Guardian" was released in Feb. 2011. The sequel is coming in 2012! View all posts by cjgosling

2 responses to “Advice please!

  • Nick Daniels

    Don't rush it… pray about it. Unless your book fills a niche which the small publisher is aiming for, wait up for a larger publisher.

  • Rusty B.

    So what made you finally pull the trigger. There is a lot of marketing involved getting a book onto a shelf. In an industry as cynical as selling books, what finally gave you the confidence that she would be able to break in.

Leave a Reply

