Finding my voice

So I’ve decided to take a bit of a segue from working on my current novel. (You know the one where I count every day I write). For the next two months I’m going to focus exclusively on writing short stories… I guess the idea is to build a greater portfolio of work and enter some contests. But a crazy side effect is that I’m really starting to find this really odd quirky voice (writing style). I seem to be able to allow myself to write honestly… not so mainstream. You need examples?

Okay. Try a time-travelling Mennonite who tries to kill off some peace-loving robots in a distant future so he can repopulate the earth after the apocalypse… 

Or the story about the haunted cottage where Amelia Earhart keeps trying to call home.

Just for example. Honestly, I’m afraid to let some of these critters out of the box. They can only be good, or very very bad… 😀

…Opps gotta run! Hockey game back on… go Canucks! 😀

About cjgosling

I paint, I sing, I walk in the rain. I'm clumsy and I love the smell of campfire. My head is full of imaginary things and the only thing I ever really want to do in life is write. My first book "Shadowlands: The Guardian" was released in Feb. 2011. The sequel is coming in 2012! View all posts by cjgosling

Leave a Reply

