Running to Catch Up

Heh. Been a while since I’ve blogged… well it was a busy week. I’ve taken a break from writing my new novel and have been working on revisions of the manuscript I wrote for the first book in this series. It’s been fun. Riding on the heels of my last rejection I took some of the advice I received to heart and I have to say, I’m pretty excited about the result. Things are going great in the writing world.

But what I really wanted to write about right now is someone who is really the heartbeat of my passion for stories- and it’s my husband. He works really hard so I can stay home and write and always makes sure I have the best equipment to work with. He spent three days researching agents for me… it’s crazy. He says that if it helps me he finds it fun. He’s actually leaned so much about writing that he’s begin to build his own fantasy story. But he’s more than great support.

J is the smartest, most stubborn, and possibly the strongest person I’ve ever met. He’s the only guy I’ve ever known that I’ve felt is big enough to contain me and all that I am- in other words: before I always felt held back by relationships, confined somehow- with Jason, I’m running to keep up.

The most fascinating thing about him is he is the most honest person I know. If he’s tired he goes to sleep, if he’s happy he yells and jumps around, if he’s sad he cries. He doesn’t care about what other people think. A lot of us try not to care, and pretend that we don’t but Jason actually doesn’t care. (He’s constantly inviting people over from church to our place on days where dirty dishes invade our coffee table and the laundry has buried our bed).

If he’s grumpy it’s because he’s hungry, and that’s an easy fix. 🙂 He always protects me and takes care of me. He knows exactly how to cheer me up. (When I was sad about my rejection letter he bought me bubble gum and took me to the touchless car wash.) If I’m gone on a business trip he has trouble sleeping and misses my goodnight kisses… and it goes on.

When we gave our vows, I swore to always ‘be in love’ with my husband. We all ‘love’ people, but how many of us put in that extra effort to engage in loving someone? I find myself caught up in this race of love, trying to catch up to all the goodness I receive from him. In the bible it says ‘Let no debt remain outstanding, except the continuing debt to love one another’ (Rom 13:8).

That’s how I feel.

And it’s crazy, but I know nothing makes J so happy but to watch me do the thing I love well. So when I’m having a tough day writing, I write to make him proud. 😀

About cjgosling

I paint, I sing, I walk in the rain. I'm clumsy and I love the smell of campfire. My head is full of imaginary things and the only thing I ever really want to do in life is write. My first book "Shadowlands: The Guardian" was released in Feb. 2011. The sequel is coming in 2012! View all posts by cjgosling

2 responses to “Running to Catch Up

Leave a Reply

