A dark and stormy night…

I learned something new today.

I learned about two easy traps to fall into when you’re opening a scene. These are called ‘weather openings’ and ‘landscape openings’. Apparently beginning a new section of your book with a lengthy and poetic description of either of these things is cleche and way overused. Thinking back on how many times I do this very thing I guess I’m forced to reluctantly agree.

Like anything however, once you know the rule- you can break it. But you have to do it with style and knowledge. If you must start with the weather relate it DIRECTLY to some gigantic emotional inner turmoil your POV character is having. Environment has to do more than just set the stage, it has to be part of it filtered strongly though the eyes of the person that’s viewing it.

I’ve got some tweaking to do. But it’s good, all good…

About cjgosling

I paint, I sing, I walk in the rain. I'm clumsy and I love the smell of campfire. My head is full of imaginary things and the only thing I ever really want to do in life is write. My first book "Shadowlands: The Guardian" was released in Feb. 2011. The sequel is coming in 2012! View all posts by cjgosling

2 responses to “A dark and stormy night…

Leave a Reply

