Taking off the suit




It’s been a busy weekend.

I attended a workshop at the local college called The Book Project and had the chance to speak with and learn from some very great people at Gumboot books. In particular, I learned a whole lot of marketing and it dawned on me that this little book blog could use some serious work.

That thought lead to an interesting discussion at the pub later on with Angela Crocker- she’s a social media expert. Basically we talked about being genuine to who and what you are and allowing people to get a small glimpse into what makes you tick.

I’m a lot of things. And honestly, this ‘working professional writer’ stuff is a very small part of who I am. And perhaps it’s a part that I’m not 100% comfortable with either. Well let me bare my soul. I’m a hippy, I love children and yes, I love to write. I’m also an artist. I’ve tried to make pretty pictures for people’s bathrooms but the artwork that I put on my walls and makes me the happiest overall, looks like it should be in a children’s book.

Now I’m wondering: is there anyone else out there that feels like they’ve been squeezed into some sort of suit? What do you wear when you stay in? What little kooky thing makes you truly happy?

PS Big changes ahead! Look out! 🙂

About cjgosling

I paint, I sing, I walk in the rain. I'm clumsy and I love the smell of campfire. My head is full of imaginary things and the only thing I ever really want to do in life is write. My first book "Shadowlands: The Guardian" was released in Feb. 2011. The sequel is coming in 2012! View all posts by cjgosling

One response to “Taking off the suit

  • Faith.C.B

    After the writers conference, listening to the people at our table and the marketing guidance given to their somewhat surprising questions, I found myself full of valuable mouth watering information. Charity, "Squeezed, into… a suit" I heard you say the words "empowerment" that night at the pub. I agree! Like playing dress-up or putting on your characters outfit, but overall I don't think that subject would have even come up if I hadn't blown the whistle on you! Talking about your long beautiful dreads. While you are in your disguise! Hahaa… you rule! -FCB

Leave a Reply

